Nuclear science and technology hold enormous potential and can help any given country solve pressing social and economic issues. 

The Minister of Health and Social Services, Dr. Kalumbi Shangula, has therefore directed the new Atomic Energy Board to mobilize stakeholders and develop common agendas for the enhancement of nuclear science and technology in Namibia.

Namibia has adopted the Nuclear Fuel Cycle Policy and the Nuclear Science and Technology Policy, and Dr. Shangula wants the Atomic Energy Board to assist the government in translating the policies into meaningful socio-economic development for the benefit of all citizens.

He has also directed the Board to consult relevant stakeholders, seek advice on the best practical approach to creating a national institutional framework for promoting nuclear science and technology, and identify opportunities on how Namibia can harness its potential in the nuclear industry.

"You have an important task ahead of you. You will thus hit the ground running to carry out your mandate, especially the protection of the Namibian people against nuclear radiation, to implement programs under the nuclear safeguards, propose initiatives that can benefit Namibia through the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and African Commission on Nuclear Energy (AFCONE), as well as ensuring that Namibia meets and is at all times compliant with our international obligations regarding the nuclear non-proliferation regime."

The AEB Chairperson, Dr. Shitaleni Herman, says the team will act with urgency in executing its duties and advise the government on the peaceful use of nuclear science and technology.

Dr. Herman noted that the nuclear industry has evolved, especially in the extraction of raw materials such as uranium, with the provision of advanced technology and machinery.

However, the board will have to identify and intensify ways to process raw materials in the country for economic development.

The new members are Dr. Shitaleni Herman, Chairperson of the Board, Timoteus Mufeti, John Titus, Petrina Nghidengwa, Collin Namalambo, and Natasja Cupido.

AEB is a statutory entity established to advise on nuclear energy and radiation sources.

Photo Credits
Namibia economist


Celma Ndhikwa