Political analyst Ndumba Kamwanya speaks on his impressions of the just-ended by-election in the Keetmanshoop Rural Constituency and how it could affect the political landscape in Namibia.

The Landless People's Movement retained the constituency after its candidate, Willem Labuschagne, won the by-election with 1,272 votes. Swapo Party candidate Elias !Kharuxab obtained 872 votes, while independent candidate and former LPM councillor Gerrit Witbooi received 462 votes.

The Popular Democratic Movement's candidate Johannes Eiman and Independent Patriots for Change's candidate Magdalena van Staden got 275 and 32 votes, respectively.

Photo Credits
The Namibian