The Namibian Institute of Architects (NIA), a non-profit organisation, has awarded 15 merits to architecture.

The merit awards ceremony takes place every four to five years to recognise the work of architects.

28 projects were submitted, of which 15 received awards in the categories of commendation, achievement, and people's choice.

Some of the projects that walked away with awards include Howard Krogh Architect with the project Bachman Fuel Centre, Jaco Wasserfall Architect with the project Burmeister and Partner, and Chigama Architect with the project Soweto Medical Centre.

The President of the NIA, Vernon Mwazi, says the organisation's objectives are to advance art science and the practice of architecture.

Una Stuurman Architects walked away with three awards in all categories under the Be Free Centre, St. Augustine Catholic Church, and people's choice awards.

The Namibian Institute of Architects was established in 1952.

Photo Credits
NBC Digital News


Lucia Nghifindaka