Two out of seven members of the Katima Mulilo Town Council Management Committee have been sworn in after a successful election today.

Lister Shamalaza has been re-elected mayor and is being deputized by Lasken Sikosi of the Popular Democratic Movement, a position previously held by the Swapo Party's Christina Simanga.

John Ntemwa remains Chairperson of the Management Committee.

The Katima Mulilo Urban Constituency Councillor and regional governor's representative, Kennedy Simasiku, praised the councilors for having shown maturity following the nomination of PDM's Sikosi as deputy mayor.

Namangolwa Mapenzi and Christina Simanga were elected as members of the management committee.

For the second time, IPC's Charles Musiyalike and NDP's Watson Kalaluka did not show up for the swearing-in ceremony.

Photo Credits
New Era Newspaper


Juliet Sibeso