Namibia expands visa-on-arrival services


The Ministry of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety, and Security has launched visa on arrival services at an additional four entry points, bringing the total number of entry points in Namibia with visa on arrival to 11.

The new entry points are Oshikango, Mohembo, Ariamsvlei, Noordoewer, and Oranjemund Border Posts.

During the launch, the Home Affairs Minister stated that the decision to implement visas on arrival for tourists and visitors is in line with the principles and agenda of the African Union for Africa's integration agenda and visa-free Africa.

UK announces that all Namibians will need a visa to UK


The United Kingdom has announced that all Namibian nationals will need a visa before travelling to the UK, including to visit, as of today.

In a statement, the British High Commissioner to Namibia, Charles Moore, explained that the decision to impose a visa regime was made because of the "sustained and significant increase since 2016 in the number of UK asylum applications from Namibian nationals at the UK border. This constitutes an abuse of the provision to visit the UK for a limited period as non-visa nationals."