People with disabilities call on ECN to be more inclusive


The Chairperson of People with Disabilities in the Ohangwena Region, Asser Shikongo, has called on the Electoral Commission of Namibia (EC) to, in the build-up to the national elections, be mindful of their responsibilities to citizens with disabilities. 

Representing the Regional Development Coordinating Committee, Shikongo took up the plight of the people with disabilities, saying their democratic rights are not respected, given the unavailability of information related to general voter registration in formats more easily accessible to the community.

Zambezi Region prepares for election general registration


Preparations for the 2024 general registration of voters, to be held from June 3 to August 1, are in full swing in the Zambezi Region. 

The Supervisor for Registration of Voters in Sibbinda Constituency and Acting Chairperson of the Supervisors of Voters, Ben Luponjani, made this assurance during a stakeholder engagement meeting.

The meeting brought together various stakeholders, including representatives of political parties. 

According to Luponjani, teams have already been deployed in the region for voter education purposes. 

Katima Mulilo Town Council without management committee chairperson


The election of a chairperson of the management committee for Katima Mulilo Town Council was deadlocked, with members unable to choose a nominee to occupy the seat.

The three nominated members for the position were Charles Musialike from the Independent Patriots for Change, Namangolwa Mapenzi, and Chizabulyo Simanga, both from the Swapo Party.

Katima's newly elected mayor, John Ntemwa, called for the postponement of the election of a chairperson to allow for further consultations after Musialike walked out of the proceedings.

UDF President, Apius !Auchab seeks re-election


The United Democratic Front's (UDF) incumbent President, Apius !Auchab, is seeking re-election ahead of the upcoming Congress.

This he revealed during his presidential manifesto launch held at Usakos.

Hundreds of people from all walks of life painted the streets of Usakos with green, blue, and white colours, holding posters and expressing themselves through music and dance in support of Team !Auchab.

!Auchab says during his final term, if voted into power, he will groom and equip the next generation of leaders to take over once his journey ends.

Zambezi Regional Council management committee


New members and a chairperson have been elected for the management committee of the Zambezi Regional Council.

Matengu Simushi of the Swapo Party and Councillor of the Katima Rural Constituency has been re-elected chairperson of the Zambezi Regional Council's Management Committee.

In his address, Simushi urged fellow councillors to prioritize unity of purpose and development, regardless of their political affiliation.

Election of Ohangwena Regional Council Management Committee's chairperson a tie


The election of the chairperson of the Ohangwena Regional Council Management Committee has ended in a tie.

Outgoing council chairperson and councillor for Omulonga Constituency, Erickson Ndawanifa, and Festus Ikanda, councillor for Omundaungilo Constituency, were nominated, leaving the 12-member council divided into half.

The election reached a tie as both candidates scored six votes each after members cast their votes through the ballots before Magistrate Adrian Sangunji of the Eenhana Magistrate's Court.

PDM councilor Melba Tjozongoro elected as the town's new Mayor


The Gobabis Local Authority has elected PDM councilor Melba Tjozongoro as the new town Mayor.

Tjozongoro took over the mayoral position from outgoing Mayor Elvire Theron.

Katrina Nona Goreses of the Swapo Party retains her position as the town's deputy Mayor.

The following councilors were elected as members of the management committee of Gobabis municipality: Sylvester Binga, Isaak de Beer, and Elvire Theron.

The ceremony was officiated by Magistrate Eden Iyambo.

Swapo Party concludes verification, certification of CC election results


Several SWAPO Party heavyweights finally made it to the list of the Central Committee after the conclusion of the voter verification and certification process in the early hours of Saturday.

This includes Prime Minister Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila, who did not appear on the first list but is now in the top ten of female candidates.

The newly elected top four leaders ordered that a verification process be carried out after an error was detected during the counting process for the Central Committee election.

Presidency warns against impersonating President Geingob


The Presidency has described as a grave concern, incidences of individuals fraudulently claiming to be President Hage Geingob and contacting SWAPO Party delegates to the 7th Congress and purportedly asking them to vote for certain candidates.

In a media statement, the presidency urged those individuals to desist from impersonating the President in order to influence the Congress delegates.

According to the statement, President Geingob has not contacted any delegate to influence them in favor of any candidate contesting for the Vice-President position.